MAviO News

Award Winners 2020

During 2020 the Enemed MAviO Awards had to shift to a virtual setting given the huge limitations imposed on the organising committee by the pandemic which in late September was close to reaching its second peak. Despite the adversities faced, CEO Marvic Bugeja and her board together with Radiosity Alpha did a splendid job to give due recognition to Malta’s unsung heroes in the aviation field. The awards were presented by Chief Corporate Officer at Enemed Allan Micallef and also the company’s Executive chairman Kevin Chircop. The Select Committee was chaired by well known aviation lawyer Dr Francesca Galea ably assisted by deputy CEO Riccardo Flask and Captain Sinclair Portelli.  In 2020, the Select Committee received the highest number of nominations ever since the inception of the awards more than eight years ago.

The Aviator of the Year Award went to the Air Wing – Armed Forces of Malta. Led by Lt. Col James Thomas Grech, the unit has distinguished itself as a forward thinking entity within the AFM and has shown to go beyond its call of duty whenever asked to spring into action.

The Leader of the Year award was handed over to Clint Taliana who heads the Flight Operations Inspectorate Unit within the Civil Aviation Directorate. Clint is well-liked by his colleagues at TM-CAD and has come in for a lot of praise from local AOC holders for his pragmatic and proactive approach.

The much coveted Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Captain Robert Risso. Captain Risso had an illustrious career at Air Malta and Comlux among others. He is also widely considered as the distinguished forefather of Crew Resource Management in Malta. 

Add comment

Follow us

Don't be shy, get in touch. We love meeting interesting people and making new friends.